WHAT AUTOMATIC SYNC DOES


Automatic Sync pushes ALL of your Live listings from all Marketplaces to your base in the background. Merch Wizard will then start opening a series of tabs to extract the required information to save to your base.


Note that if you also want your full PNGs to be synced with your listings, you must have Automatically Push PNGs enabled in your Options! 




HOW AUTOMATIC SYNC IS DIFFERENT FROM PUSH LISTINGS TO AIRTABLE


The “Push Listings to Airtable” button pushes only the Live listings that are showing on the current page (15, 25, 50, or 100 at a time) for the currently selected marketplace.  Automatic Sync pushes ALL of your Live listings from all marketplaces to your base. Automatic Sync gets rid of the need to manually go from page to page, clicking the Push Listings to Airtable button each time (the old way to sync all of your records).  




AUTOSYNC SETTINGS AND WHAT THEY MEAN


AUTOMATIC SYNC SETTINGS IN THE MERCH WIZARD APP SETTINGS PAGE


Scroll down until you get to the box that says "Automatic Sync Options”.




Click on “Automatic Sync Options" to expand the settings box. 




Choose a Sync Order by clicking the button. Options are Nearest Removal First, Newest First and Oldest First as shown below:




Choose a Sync Speed by clicking the Sync Speed dropdown. Options are Very Fast, Fast, Normal, Slow and Very Slow, as shown below. You can pick your personal preference based on your computer and internet connection speed.



These speeds refer to how frequently a new tab is opened. Below is an explanation of each speed. Note that if Automatically Push PNGs is selected in your options an additional second is added on top to cater for it:

  • Very Slow: opens 1 tab every 5 seconds
  • Slow: opens 1 tab every 3 seconds
  • Normal: opens 1 tab every 2 seconds
  • Fast: opens 1 tab every second
  • Very Fast: opens 1 tab every half second


Choose how frequently to re-sync listings


The setting “Only re-sync listings after x days” refers to how often you want your listings updated each time you click the Start Automatic Sync button. By default, this value is set to 7 days, as shown below, but you can choose any number of days that you want from 0 and higher.


For example, if you kept the default value of "7", then if it has been less than 7 days (for example) since the last time you did an Automatic Sync clicking Start Automatic Sync will only sync records that have been updated or added within the last 7 days since your last Automatic Sync


To be clear, this setting does not tell Merch Wizard to run an automatic sync every X days. You need to click the Automatic Sync whenever you want to begin an auto-sync.


AUTOMATIC SYNC SETTINGS ON THE MANAGE PAGE IN YOUR MERCH DASHBOARD


There is a single setting that pertains to automatic sync on the Manage page of your Merch Dashboard called “Sync Updates Only”, as shown below.



This is turned off by default. However, if you use multiple bases and you only want it to update the records that are in that base (as opposed to all of your listings), then you should turn this option on. For example, if you split your bases by Marketplace, when you select your DE database and click Start Automatic Sync it will only update the DE records that already exist in your base, ignoring all of the US and UK listings.


If you have NEW listings that you want to add to your base, simply chose the appropriate base and click on the red “Add to Airtable” buttons. TIP: If you ctrl-click on the buttons the windows will open in background tabs so you can quickly click through a list of them.




HOW COME MERCH IS ASKING ME TO LOGIN?


After a certain (seemingly random) period of time depending on your account size, Amazon may ask you to login again. When this happens, your Automatic Sync will automatically stop and you will get a notification on your Manage page of “Stopped automatic sync due to login screen prompt. Please login then resume the automatic sync" as shown below. Simply login to your Amazon account again and then click the Start Automatic Sync button again for it to continue.






HOW COME WHEN I CONTINUE MY AUTOMATIC SYNC IT SHOWS FEWER TOTAL RECORDS THAN THE NUMBER OF LISTINGS I HAVE?


When you continue an automatic sync (either because you stopped it or because you were logged out of Merch), it will say "Partial Sync", as shown below, and start with record "1 of X". That number X represents the number of remaining listings to sync, not the total number of listings you have.




WHAT HAPPENS IF I MANUALLY STOP THE SYNC?


You can pause your sync by clicking the red "Stop Automatic Sync" button:





To continue with the automatic sync, just click the Start Automatic Sync button again when you’re ready to continue and Merch Wizard will pick up where it left off.


The only caveat is that if you have Your Options set to re-sync listings after 0 days then clicking Automatic Sync at that point it will start a full Automatic Sync. If this is how you have your Options set but you're wanting it to continue from where it left off, temporarily change the Option for Frequency of Re-syncing records in the Automatic Sync Settings in the Merch Wizard Options page of the app to at least 1 day past when you last stopped your automatic sync in order for it to pick up from where it left off.